The Spicy Lotus

October 5, 2009

The Oedipus plays, Sophocles

Filed under: Classic,Greek,Play — pha9 @ 3:52 pm

This post refers to all three Oedipus plays: Oedipus the King, Oedipus at Colonus, and Antigone.

Oedipus the King (ancient Greek Οἰδίπους Τύραννος, often known by the Latin title Oedipus Rex) is an Athenian tragedy bySophocles that was first performed c. 429 BC. It was the second of Sophocles’s three Theban plays to be produced, but it comes first in the internal chronology, followed by Oedipus at Colonus and then Antigone. Over the centuries, it has come to be regarded by many as the Greek tragedy par excellence.

Oedipus at Colonus (also Oedipus Coloneus, and in Greek Οἰδίπους ἐπὶ Κολωνῷ Oidipous epi Kolōnō) is one of the three Theban plays of the Athenian tragedian Sophocles. It was written shortly before Sophocles’ death in 406 BC and produced by his grandson (also called Sophocles) at the Festival of Dionysus in 401 BC.

In the timeline of the plays, the events of Oedipus at Colonus occur after Oedipus the King and before Antigone. The play describes the end of Oedipus’ tragic life. Legends differ as to the site of Oedipus’ death; Sophocles set the place at Colonus, a village near Athens and also Sophocles’ own birthplace, where the blinded Oedipus has come with his daughters Antigone andIsmene as suppliants of the Erinyes and of Theseus, the king of Athens.

Antigone (Greek: Ἀντιγόνη) is a tragedy by Sophocles written before or in 442 BC. Chronologically, it is the third of the three Theban plays but was written first.The play expands on the Theban legend that predated it and picks up where Aeschylus’Seven Against Thebes ends.


Blog at